- Residential and commercial conversion & redevelopment opportunities
- Imposing & iconic buildings
- Stunning views to the west over river and open countryside
- No 3 & No 4 Quay Street - D-90
The Former Healings Brewery Buildings are exempt as they are Listed.
Healings Mill was built for Samuel Healing in 1865. When built, it was considered to be the largest and most modern flour mill in the world, producing 25 sacks of flour an hour in 1892. Throughout the course of the Mills history it has been accessed by road via a handsome cast-iron bridge, by rail via the Tewkesbury to Upton-upon-Severn railway line, and by canal/river barge via the River Avon. Barges were used right up until 1998, as the mill had two barges named Chaceley and Tirley which transported grain to the mill from Avonmouth and Sharpness. The mill was purchased by Allied Mills in the 1970s, and was completely refurbished and fitted out with brand new machinery. It was in turn taken over by ADM Milling, but in 2006 they announced the closure of the mill. It milled flour for the last time on October 20th, 2006, ending 140 years of milling on the site.
The properties are situated within Tewkesbury at the junction of Quay Street, Red Lane and Back of Avon. They front onto the River Avon with views towards open countryside to the west. According to the 2011 Census, Tewkesbury has a population of 10,704.
Local amenities are available within easy walking distance at Tewkesbury High Street. The A38 and M5 motorway (jct 9) provides excellent road connections and there is a good rail service from Ashchurch Station (just to the east of the M5 J9) providing services north towards Birmingham and south to Cheltenham and on to Bristol.
No. 3 & 4 Quay Street and Red Lane (edged green on the adjacent plan) comprise 2 existing buildings and an associated car park (off Red Lane). No 4, on the corner of Quay St and Red Lane is an attractive red brick former office building with large sash windows over ground and 2 upper floors.
Healings Mill Brewery building (edged blue) is an attractive Grade II Listed red brick multi level warehouse property on the corner of Quay St and Back of Avon. Over ground and 3 upper floors, the building is an imposing structure with interesting detailing including large, arched windows providing excellent views to the West. Adjoining the principal corner building are further red brick extensions which have planning permission to be demolished.
The island site (edged red) extends to approximately 3.79 acres (1.53 hectares) and comprises two further Victorian multi level warehouse buildings adjacent the river and a steel portal frame transport building to the rear of the site. The remainder of the site is made up of concrete hardstanding situated within flood zone 3.
Also included is a further storage building on Quay Street (edged purple) which may be suitable for further car parking.
Extensive demolition work has recently taken place on the areas of the site hatched blue on the adjacent plan.
Property information from this agent
See more properties like this: